Co-Sponsors of Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Act

Portman Co-Sponsors Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Act

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Rob Portman (R-Ohio) today joined U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina) in introducing the Pain Capable Unborn Child Protection Act in the United States Senate.
The Senators were joined at the Capitol Hill introduction by leaders of the pro-life community.


“While our nation is divided on whether or not abortion should be legal, on one point there is a growing consensus: we must all work together to reduce the number of abortions. With all of the innovative medical treatments now available, more Americans are realizing that we are talking about children that deserve protection and overwhelmingly believe that we need a law like this,” said Portman. “The unborn are the most vulnerable members of our society, and I am committed to ongoing efforts to protect innocent life.”
“At twenty weeks, mothers are encouraged to speak and sing as the baby can recognize the voice of the mother,” said Graham.  “The question for the American people is, ‘Should we be silent when it comes to protecting these unborn children entering the sixth month of pregnancy?  Or is it incumbent on us to speak up and act on their behalf?  I say we must speak up and act.”
“Ohio Right to Life thanks Senator Portman for his pro-life leadership by co-sponsoring this landmark legislation. Today’s science demonstrates that unborn babies can feel pain, and this legislation will ensure that those babies will no longer suffer the pain of an abortion.  Ohio Right to Life joins a majority of Ohioans who support this pro-life legislation as well as Senator Portman’s commitment towards Life,” said Mike Gonidakis, President of Ohio Right to Life.
Cosponsors include Senators John Barrasso (WY), Roy Blunt (MO), John Boozman (AR), Richard Burr (NC), Saxby Chambliss (GA), Dan Coats (IN), Thad Cochran (MS), Tom Coburn (OK), Mike Crapo (ID), Ted Cruz (TX), John Cornyn (TX), Mike Enzi (WY), Deb Fischer (NE), Jeff Flake (AZ), Charles Grassley (IA), Orrin Hatch (UT), John Hoeven (ND), Johnny Isakson (GA), Mike Johanns (NE), Ron Johnson (WI) James Inhofe (OK), Mitch McConnell (KY), Jerry Moran (KS), John McCain (AZ), James Risch (ID), Pat Roberts (KS), Marco Rubio (FL), Richard Shelby (AL), Tim Scott (SC), John Thune (SD), David Vitter (LA), Roger Wicker (MS),  Deb Fischer (NE), and Kelly Ayotte (NH). 
Companion legislation passed through the U.S. House of Representatives in June by a vote of 228-196.

Founded in 1967, Ohio Right to Life, with more than 45 local chapters, is Ohio’s oldest and largest grassroots pro-life organization. Recognized as the flagship of the pro-life movement in Ohio, ORTL works through legislation and education to promote and defend innocent human life from conception to natural death.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s